Steven     Leach

Research Fellow

Steven Leach is a scholar and practitioner who has been based in South Africa since 2011. He has facilitated conflict transformation processes in Uganda, South Africa, and Tanzania, and has written on “local ownership” in development, community-based approaches to preventing violent conflict, and youth violence in Zanzibar. His primary interest is the intersection of religion and violence among young people; he believes that religious actors and institutions have a constructive role to play in preventing conflict and promoting peace, and also that the complex conflict dynamics in any given context extend beyond religion. He is writing his dissertation on youth violence and religion in Zanzibar. Steven

WHAT WE DO

We strive to tackle both change in policy and effective implementation of programs that directly affect youth affairs. We support youth centered projects and policies that empowers youth’s socioeconomic skills.

On the policy level we engage with policy makers and bring-in a youth voice to the policy discussion forums.
We do these efforts through our three approaches

- We work directly with our target groups
- We collaborate with competent partners
- We support other partners to directly implement our projects.

OUR TEAM

Hashim Pondeza

M: +255 778 885 000
E: hashim@cyd.or.tz

Rose Schneider

M: +12022915829
E: rose@cyd.or.tz

Ali Shaaban Mtwana

M: +255 777 413 571
E: ali@cyd.or.tz

Bakar Omar Hamad

M: +255 777 878293
E: bakar@cyd.or.tz

Tumadhir Ali Suleiman

M: +255 678 581 340
E: tumadhir@cyd.or.tz

Steven Leach

M: +1713 213 8419
E: steven@cyd.or.tz

 

Machano Juma Machano

M: +255 772 636 585
E: machano@cyd.or.tz

Gabriel M. Ndunguru

M: +255 656 701 144
E: gabriel@cyd.or.tz

Amina Rashid Uledi

M: +255 715 052 898
E: amina@cyd.or.tz

Kauthar Juma Nassor

M: +255 777 146 148
E: kauthar@cyd.or.tz

Hamad Hamad

M: +255 776 425 100
E: hamad@cyd.or.tz

Adam Yunus Haroun

M: +255 718 738 777
E: adam@cyd.or.tz